Five NANS officers killed in auto crash


vehicle_conveying_killed_nans_leadersFive officers of the National Association of Nigerian Students (NANS) died on Thursday in a motor accident on the Umuahia-Ikot Ekpene Road, the FRSC said.

Mr John Meheux, the Abia Sector Commander of Federal Road Safety Commission (FRSC),and NANS Director, Action and Mobilisation, Mr Sunday Asefon, confirmed the incident to the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) in Abuja.

Meheux said the accident, which involved a truck and a mini-bus belonging to NANS, occurred at Ariam-Ndioru Junction in Ikwuano Local Government Area of Abia.

The dead students are NANS Senate President, Mr Donald Onukaogu, Mr Abdulaziz Oladimeji, a candidate for the National President of the union from the University of Ibadan, Mr Japhafa Duru, Zone B Assistant General Secretary, and Mr Jerry Sorkar.

Meheux said that four of the victims died on the spot, while one died on the way to the hospital.

He said that four others injured in the accident were at the intensive Care Unit of Federl Medical Centre, Umuahia.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.