As Ogun Assembly constitutes 22 standing committees, five lawmakers defect to APC, ADC, PDP


Five members of the Ogun House of Assembly, on Thursday, defected to three parties.
Speaker of the House, Mr Suraj Adekunbi, read the letters of defection by the lawmakers during plenary session in Abeokuta.
Adekunbi (APC-Yewa North1) said that this was the first time the Assembly would be receiving such a  high number of defection letters.
He said the Assembly received only three such defection letters in the last dispensation.
Two of the lawmakers, Mrs Akintayo Folakemi (Yewa South) and Mr Ojo Viwanu (Ipokia/Idiroko) defected from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to the All Progressives Congress (APC).
Jemili Akingbade (Imeko Afon)  and Atanda Razaq (Yewa North 11) also  left the PDP for the Africa Democratic Congress (ADC)
Mr Harrison Adeyemi (Ogun Waterside), however, defected from the APC to the PDP.
Folakemi commended the ideology of her new party as well as   Gov. Ibikunle Amosun for ensuring rapid development in the state.
She said the major reason for her defection was for her to be part of the Ogun West for Governor campaign.
“I am an Ogun West person and whatever will make my people happy is what I will go for.
“Whatever is done that concerns Ogun West, I must be part of it,” she said.
She stated that it was high time somebody from the zone became the governor of the state, adding that this had eluded the zone since the creation of the state 42 years ago.
Folakemi promised to continue to do her best in ensuring that the dividends of democracy got to the nook and crannies of her constituency.
Some of the PDP lawmakers, who defected, hinged their decision on the crisis and division within the party at the state level.
Meanwhile, the Assembly has constituted 22 standing committees it dissolved on January 25.
Mr Olakunle Oluomo (APC – Ifo 1), the Deputy Speaker, read the report of the adhoc committee on selection during plenary in Abeokuta.
Oluomo later moved the motion for the adoption of the report, seconded by Mr Akinpelu Aina (APC-Ado Odo Ota 1).
The deputy speaker, who announced the names of the committee chairmen and members at the plenary, said every committee was important.
Speaking shortly after the plenary, Aina said the committees would assist the House in its oversight functions in Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs).
Aina, who is the Chairman, Committee on Information and Strategy, said the House  would be more critical in its oversight functions.
The lawmaker promised that his committee would ensure that the appropriate dissemination of necessary information on the activities of the House to the public.
He also promised that the House would continue to upgrade its feedback mechanism to enhance free flow of information from the public to the legislature and vice-versa.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

nine − one =