Senate reconstitutes committees with appointment of 11 chairmen, vice chairmen


Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, on Wednesday, reconstituted some Standing and Special Committees of the upper chamber with 13 senators appointed variously as Chairmen, Vice chairmen or committee members.
Lawan, who announced the new appointments at plenary, said Sen. Sahabi Ya’u (APC-Zamfara) would chair the Committee on National Population and National Identity, with Sen Tokunbo Abiru (APC-Lagos) as Chairman Senate Committee on Industries.
The changes also affected Sen. Saidu Alkali (PDP- Gombe), who is now the Chairman, Senate Committee on Trade and Investments, and Sen. Kabiru Barkiya (APC-Katsina) as Chairman, Senate Committee on Interparliamentary Affairs.
The senate president also named Sen. Seriake Dickson (PDP-Bayelsa) as Vice-Chairman, Senate Committee on Interior and member, Senate Committee on Appropriations.
Sen. Abiodun Olujimi (PDP-Ekiti) was appointed member, Senate Committee on Appropriations, Sen Tolu Odebiyi (APC-Ogun) as Vice Chairman, Senate Committee on Marine Transport, and Sen. Lekan Mustapha (APC-Ogun) also as Vice Chairman, Senate Committee on INEC”.
The rest were Sen. Jarigbe Jarigbe (PDP-Cross River) as Vice Chairman, Senate Committee on Foreign Affairs;
Sen. Moses Cleopas (PDP-Bayelsa) as Vice Chairman, Senate Committee on National Planning and Economic Affairs.
Sen. Frank Ibezim (APC-Imo) is now Vice Chairman, Senate Committee on Industries; Sen. Nora Dadut (APC-Plateau) is now Vice Chairperson, Senate Committee on Culture and Tourism, while Sen. Degi Biobarakuma (APC-Bayelsa) was named member, Senate Committee on Appropriations.
In his remarks, the senate president said: “we expect that these chairmen and vice chairmen will start their work immediately, especially on the budget defence. We wish them the best of tenure and steady hands on their work.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.