Access Bank appoints Ajoritsedere Awosika as independent non-executive director


access_bank_logoAccess Bank, one of Nigeria’s largest Banks and Africa’s leading financial services groups, has announced the appointment of Dr. (Mrs.) Ajoritsedere Awosika, as its second Independent Non-Executive Director following the approval of the Bank’s Board of Directors and Central Bank of Nigeria.

Commenting on her appointment, Gbenga Oyebode, Chairman, Access Bank said “We are delighted to have Dr. Awosika join our Board. Her impressive credentials and vast experience will be of significant value to the Bank over the years to come”.

Analysts have described her appointment as “commendable and impressive”. Enthusiastically, a leading voice in corporate governance practice described the appointment of the experienced public servant whose service to the nation transverse several federal ministries as “ensuring gender balance on the Bank’s Board and a rich harvest of integrity”.

Dr. Awosika has over 35 years experience in public health and possesses extensive experience in public sector governance. She was elected the first female secretary of the Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria and was a resource person for the World Bank and the Federal Government of Nigeria at various times in her career.

Reacting to her appointment, Dr. Awosika said “It is pleasing to serve on the Board of Access Bank Plc. I consider my appointment a great honour and assure stakeholders that I will work with other Board members as we build a world class financial institution”.

Dr. (Mrs.) Awosika has held a number of key public sector positions including being Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Internal Affairs, Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Science and Technology, and until her retirement; Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Power. She was elected a fellow of the West African Post Graduate College of Pharmacy in 1998 and Institute of Directors in 2000. Dr. Awosika is a recipient of numerous awards which include her conferment with the national honour of the Member of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, (MFR).

Dr. (Mrs.) Awosika who holds a doctorate degree in Pharmacy graduated from the Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria. She is also an alumnus of the School of Pharmacy, University of Bradford, United Kingdom and the National Institute of Policy and Strategic Studies (NIPSS), Jos.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.