Waldrum picks Ebi, Oshoala, Plumptre, 22 others for WAFCON


Super Falcons’ Head Coach, Randy Waldrum, has picked team captain, Onome Ebi, and 24 other players to represent Nigeria at the 12th Women Africa Cup of Nations (WAFCON).

 Ademola Olajire, Director of Communications at Nigeria Football Federation (NFF), in a statement on Friday, said the 25-player list was an interesting mix of the old guard and new blood.

The competition is scheduled for Morocco from July 2 to 23.

“Veteran players such as Tochukwu Oluehi, Ebi, Rita Chikwelu, Osinachi Ohale, Francisca Ordega and Ngozi Okobi-Okeoghene are on board.

”There are also defenders Ashleigh Plumptre, Nicole Payne and Michelle Alozie, midfielder Regina Otu and forwards Vivian Ikechukwu, Gift Monday and Ifeoma Onumonu,” Olajire said.

He, however, added that eight of the players who made the Falcons’ camp in Abuja were dropped.

”These are goalkeeper Rita Akarekor, defenders Chidinma Okeke, Ngozi Emenayo and Opeyemi Sunday, midfielders Suliat Abideen, Amanda Mbadi and Charity Adule, and forward Anam Imo.”

The Super Falcons will take on South Africa’s Banyana Banyana in their first match of the competition on July 4.

They then take on Botswana on July 7 and Burundi on July 10.

All the four semi-finalists at the competition in Morocco will qualify to represent Africa at the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand.

The Falcons’ contingent will depart Nigeria for Morocco on Monday.


Goalkeepers: Chiamaka Nnadozie (Paris FC, France); Tochukwu Oluehi (Maccabi Kishronot Hadera, Israel); Yewande Balogun (Coppermine United, U.S.)

Defenders: Glory Ogbonna (Santa Teresa FC, Spain); Onome Ebi (En Avant Guingamp, France); Osinachi Ohale (Deportivo Alaves, Spain)

Ashleigh Plumptre (Leicester City, England); Nicole Payne (West Virginia University, U.S.); Michelle Alozie (Houston Dash, U.S.); Akudo Ogbonna (Edo Queens)

Midfielders: Peace Efih (Kiryat Gat, Israel); Halimatu Ayinde (Eskilstuna FC, Sweden); Toni Oyedupe Payne (Sevilla FC, Spain); Regina Otu (Minsk FC, Belarus)

Christy Ucheibe (SL Benfica, Portugal); Rasheedat Ajibade (Atletico Madrid, Spain); Rita Chikwelu (Madrid CFF, Spain); Ngozi Okobi-Okeoghene (Eskilstuna FC, Sweden)

Forwards: Francisca Ordega (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Vivian Ikechukwu (WFC Gintra, Lithuania); Chinonyerem Macleans (GSK Gornik Leczna, Poland)

Ifeoma Onumonu (NY/NJ Gotham FC, U.S.); Uchenna Kanu (Tigres Femenil, Mexico); Asisat Oshoala (FC Barcelona, Spain); Gift Monday (Bayelsa Queens).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.