South West PDP endorses Jonathan for second term


president_goodluck_jonathanThe South West chapter of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), on Tuesday endorsed President Goodluck Jonathan for a second term in 2015.

This is contained in a communiqué signed by the Chairman, South West Caretaker Committee of PDP, Chief Ishola Filani at the end of a meeting of the forum.

The forum said it endorsed Jonathan because of his leadership qualities and transformation efforts.

“After carefully x-raying the President’s qualities and in view of the fact that he is constitutionally qualified to seek re-election, the forum unanimously endorsed him for a second term in 2015,” the communiqué said.

It also passed a vote of confidence on the transformation agenda of Jonathan and the leadership role of the National Chairman of the PDP.

The forum also passed same on the PDP National Working Committee, as well as its Zonal Caretaker Committee.

The forum commended the President on the measures so far taken in combating the current security challenges in the country.

The meeting agreed that former President Olusegun Obasanjo should be the grand patron of the PDP in the South West.

It agreed to work as an entity for the success of the PDP in all forthcoming elections in Nigeria, starting with the 2014 governorship elections in Ekiti and Osun, to the presidential and general elections in 2015.

The South West PDP approved the setting up of the PDP Southwest Stakeholders Council under the Chairmanship of Sen. Lekan Balogun.

The adoption was agreed upon at the Party’s Zonal Stakeholders’ meeting held at the airport hotel, Ikeja, Lagos.

The motion for the adoption of the communique was moved by Chief Tola Odulaja from the Ogun chapter of PDP and was unanimously supported by all the members present through voice voting.

Earlier in his remarks, Filani said that the meeting was part of efforts to reconcile the factions of the party in all the states in the South West.

“This meeting is also to reposition our party for electoral success in our zone,” he said.

Former Minister for Works, Sen. Seye Ogunlewe; former Ekiti State Governor, Chief Ayo Fayose; Sen Ayo Arise, Sen Isiaka Adeleke, Dr Olu Alabi, Lekan Balogun and Dr Ade Dosunmu, attended the meeting.

Others in attendance were, Sen. Bode Olowoporoku, Chief Yomi Fini, Mr Jide Adeniji, Prof. Julius Idowu and Chief Dave Salako.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.