Senate passes vote of confidence on Saraki, Ekweremadu, other principal officers as Omoworare, Marafa kick


Lawmakers in the Upper House on Tuesday passed a vote of confidence on Senate President Bukola Saraki, his Deputy Ike Ekweremadu and all other principal officers.
This was sequel to a motion by Senator David Umoru (APC-Niger) and signed by 82 senators; 48 from PDP and 35 from APC.
Umoru said that the legislature remained the mainstay of any nation’s democracy

“The Senate notes with dismay, the attempt and continued interference in its internal affairs by detractors and media propaganda against senators, the Senate and its leadership.

“Considering the ongoing unwarranted embarrassment and aspersions being cast on the Senate and its leadership, the Senate is determined not to allow itself to be distracted.”

He added that the Senate would not succumb to cheap blackmail by any individual or group in the course of carrying out its constitutional responsibilities.

In his contribution, Sen. Ahmed Sani (APC-Zamfara) said that the senators were elected by Nigerians and that no one could choose for them who should lead them.

He stressed that no one outside the Senate could initiate any action that would destabilise the Upper Chamber, urging all those nursing such intention to desist.

Raising a point of order, Senatpr Babajide Omoworare (APC-Osun) asked that his name be removed from the list of signatories as he was not a party to the vote of confidence.

Senator Kabir Marafa (APC-Zamfara) relying on Order 53(5) and 53(8), insisted that the Senate should not have mentioned a matter pending in court.

He was ruled out of order when he moved a motion to counter the earlier motion.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.