Minister of Power approves constitution of panel on system collapse


chinedu_neboThe Minister of Power, Prof. Chinedu Nebo, on Wednesday approved the immediate constitution of a Technical Investigative Panel on system collapse.

This is contained in a statement, signed by Dr Godknows Igali, the Permanent Secretary in the ministry, in Abuja.

It said that the panel would be headed by Mr Fatai Olapade, a retired director in the ministry with Jonathan Ogbonna, John Achefe and Imo Ekpo as members.

Other members are a representative of the Nigeria Electricity Regulatory Commission, a representative of the Electrical Inspectorate Services Department and a representative of the Department of Power.

Also included in the panel are Mr Olukunle Olubiyi, President, Network for Energy Reform, a representative of power generation companies and representative of power distribution companies.

According to the statement, the action is necessitated by the recent unpleasant trend of system collapse in the country.

The statement noted that electricity supply to Sokoto and environs, disrupted due to a windstorm, had been restored.





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.