Lai Mohammed inaugurates post-Covid-19 Committee for Creative Industry + list of members


The Minister of Information and Culture, Alhaji Lai Mohammed, has
performed the virtual inauguration of the Post-Covid-19 Initiatives
Committee for the Creative Industry, with a call on all members of the
industry to support the committee in the interest of the industry.

“The Committee’s membership, as announced two weeks ago, has now been
expanded to include as many sectors as possible. This is to ensure a
fair representation,” the Minister said while inaugurating the
committee in his office in Abuja on Tuesday.

”However, while the committee cannot accommodate all members of the
industry, it is certain that all members will benefit from its work. I
therefore want to implore the entire industry to support this
committee. This is no time for
division. All hands must be on deck so the industry can rebound,” he said.

Mohammed described the Creative Industry as a very critical
sector of the nation’s economy and a major plank of the economic
diversification policy “of this Administration”.

He said that in view of the devastating impact of Covid-19 on the
Creative Industry, it has become imperative to have a collective and
government-supported approach in dealing with the immediate, short and
long term economic stimulus and initiatives for the industry, in order
to mitigate the effect of the pandemic on the sector.

“Two weeks ago, I announced the establishment of this committee. In
doing so, I said the Covid-19 pandemic has impacted negatively on the
nation, and that the Creative Industry has been particularly hard hit,
considering the fact that it is an industry that has
people-interaction at its core. I also said that instead of addressing
these problems piecemeal, we should do so holistically for a more
positive outcome”, The Minister said.

While commending members of the Committee for their sacrifice and love
of country, he urged them to do justice to the assignment, which will
culminate in suitable recommendations that will help the industry to
thrive and expand.

In his response, the Chairman of the Committee, Mr. Ali Baba,
expressed the appreciation that the Creative Industry has been given a
pride of place under this administration because of its huge
contribution to the diversification of the nation’s economy.

He assured that members of the committee will work in unison to
represent the entire creative industry and not just their respective

The Committee’s Terms of Reference are: Assess the expected impact of
the pandemic on the industry in general; advise the Government on how
to mitigate job and revenue losses in the sector as well as to create
succour for the industry small businesses; suggest the type of
taxation and financing that is best for the industry at this time to
encourage growth and advise the Government on any other measure or
measures that can be undertaken to support the industry.

Members of the Committee are:

1. Ali Baba – Comedy, Film and TV (Chairman)

2. Hajia Sa’a Ibrahim – Broadcasting Organizations of Nigeria
(BON) – Vice Chairman

3. Bolanle Austen Peters – Film and Performing Arts

4. Charles Novia – Television and Independent Producer

5. Segun Arinze- Actor and Producer

6. Ali Jita – Actor and Musician

7. Baba Agba – Film Director

8. Kene Okwuosa – Cinema and Distribution

9. Efe Omoregbe – Record label and Collective rights management

10. Prince Daniel Aboki – Radio and Film

11. Chioma Ude – Streaming

12. Olumade Adesemowo – Television and Platform (FreeTV)

13. Dare Art Alade – Livespot Entertainment

14. Oliver Enwonwu – President, Society of Nigerian Artists (SNA),

15. Alhaji Saleh Rabo – President, Federation of Tourism Associations of Nigeria

16. Bala Hassan – Booksellers Association

17 Ali Nuhu – Kannywood

18 Tajudeen Owoyemi – Hotels

19. B.M. Dzukogi – Association of Nigerian Authors

20. TY Bello – Photography

21. Lanre Da Silva Ajayi – Fashion

22. Anita Eboigbe – Secretary.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

eight + eleven =