Kaigama emerges TUC’s new president


labour_union_leadersMr Bobboi Kaigama has been elected as the new President of the Trade Union Congress of Nigeria (TUC).

Kaigama defeated Mr Babatunde Ogun of the Petroleum and Natural Gas Senior Staff Association of Nigeria with 356 votes in the election held on Saturday.

Ogun got 314 votes in the peaceful election that was monitored by all past presidents of TUC.

The new TUC President, who is the President of Association of Senior Civil Servants of Nigeria, is succeeding Mr Peter Esele.

In his acceptance speech, Kaigama said that the new leadership would work with the government and private sector employers to improve the welfare of workers.

“The mandate given to us is to be good ambassadors so that we will better the lot of Nigerian workers,” he said.

Kaigama assured that the new executive would build on the existing foundation in the provision of housing for workers and a new secretariat for the congress.

He said that his team had developed a blue print on the welfare of workers and ways to address various challenges.

Kaigama said that he dedicated his victory to past leaders of TUC and called on other contestants to join hands with the newly elected leaders to lift the standard of Nigerian workers, particularly those of TUC.

Esele, the outgoing TUC president, expressed happiness at the peaceful conduct of the election.

Esele said that the congress would be taken to the next level by the newly elected leaders.

Other members of the new executive include Mr Sunday Salako from the Association of Senior Staff of Banks, Insurance and Financial Institution who was elected unopposed as first deputy president.

Mr Augustin Etafo from PENGASSAN emerged as second deputy president, while Mr Bede Opara from Senior Staff of Electricity and Allied Corporation was elected as third deputy president.

Mr Babatunde Abdulrahaman, President of Food Beverage and Tobacco Senior Staff Association was elected as treasurer.

Over 700 delegates voted in this year’s conference which elected 10 new officers to run the affairs of the association for three years.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.