Kaduna LG poll: PDP wins Zango, APC wins 10 LGs


The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has won the Chairmanship and Councillorship elections in Zangon Kataf Local Government Area of Kaduna State.
The Returning Officer for the election, Mr Danjuma Baye-Luka, announced the results on Sunday morning in Zonkwa.
He said that Mr Elias Maza of the PDP scored 55,643 votes to defeat APC’s John Hassan who polled 31,514 votes.
The All Progressives Congress, however, won Soba, Zaria, Lere, Ikara, Makarfi, Birnin Gwari,  Giwa, Kagarko, Kudan, Igabi and Kajuru councils.
The results in other councils are still being awaited.
Kudan is the council of  Senator Sule Hunkuyi who is at loggerheads with Governor Nasir El-Rufai.
Makarfi is the council of former PDP chairman and governor, Ahmad Makarfi.  Governor  El-Rufai’s candidates also won in Senator Shehu Sani’s constituency of Kajuru LG.
The council elections were conducted using electronic voting machines in the area.
In Zaria, APC polled 42,859 votes, while PDP got 16,033.
In Soba, APC got 40,903, while PDP scored 13,835.
This is the first time a state has adopted the use of electronic machines to conduct elections in Nigeria.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

nineteen + 9 =