IG redeploys 11 police commissioners


IG_muhammed_abubakarInspector-General of Police (IGP), Mr Mohammed Abubakar, has ordered the redeployment of 11 Commissioners of Police to various commands and formations.

This is contained in a statement in Abuja signed by CSP Frank Mba, the Deputy Force Public Relations Officer.

The statement listed those redeployed as Mr Agboola Oshodi-Glover to Kwara; Malam Abubakar Mohammed to Enugu and Mr Tonye Ebitibituwa to Bayelsa.

Others are Malam Umaru Shehu, Nasarawa; Ag. CP Hurdi Mohammed, Katsina; Mr Sylvester Umeh, Ports Authority Police, Eastern Port, while Mr Kudu Nma is the new CP, Gombe.

According to the statement, Usman Baba is now CP Cooperative; Saidu Madawaki, CP Border Patrol; Usman Yakabu, CP Welfare ’A’ FHQ and Abdulmaji Ali, CP EOD ‘B’ DEPT, FHQ.

It said the IG’s order followed the recent elevation of some senior officers to the rank of commissioners of police and the retirement of those in state commands and police formations.

The statement said the newly redeployed CPs had been charged to show commitment in the fight against crime and criminality in their respective new beats.

“They are to ensure that they work cordially with the public and to serve as motivation to their subordinate officers in the discharge of their responsibilities,’’ it said.

The statement said the I-G directed the CPs to be mindful of the fundamental rights of the citizenry, and ensure that complaints were promptly attended to avoid the miscarriage of justice.

“He further directed all affected officers to ensure that handing and taking-over exercises were completed soonest,’’ it said, adding that the posting took immediate effect.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.