DPR shuts 10 fuel stations over new price


Ten fuel stations have been shut by the Department of Petroleum Resources (DPR) for their alleged refusal to dispense the Premium Motor Spirit (petrol) to members of the public at the new regime of N87 per litre.
The stations were shut in Ilorin, the Kwara State capital. Some stations immediately adjusted their metres to avoid the DPR hammer.
Operation Controller of the state DPR, Amos Jokodola, an engineer, who confirmed the development, said it was carried out when he led members of the enforcement team of the department on the monitoring of petrol stations in the state capital.
To him, the excuse given by the affected stations, which included outlets owned by major and independent marketers for failure to comply with the government’s directive was not acceptable.
Jokodola vowed that the stations would remain closed until they were ready to revert to the new pump price as he argued that if the affected stations were embittered by the economic implication of the new price, it is their duty to lodge formal complaints to the necessary authorities.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

11 + four =