Buhari appoints Segun Awolowo Secretary, AfCFTA National Action Committee


President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the appointment of Mr Olusegun Awolowo as Secretary, National Action Committee on the African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA) for a tenure of four years.

Mr Femi Adesina, the President’s spokesman, who confirmed this in a statement on Tuesday in Abuja, said the appointment took effect from December 19, 2022.

According to Adesina, as secretary, Awolowo is expected to provide direction to the national action committee on the AfCFTA for effective coordination of relevant stakeholders toward the attainment of Nigeria’s strategic national interest.

Awolowo, a Law graduate from Ogun State University (now Olabisi Onabanjo University), Ago Iwoye, has served as Special Assistant to former Presidents Olusegun Obasanjo and the late Umaru Musa Yar’Adua.

He also worked with the Federal Capital Territory Administration (FCTA), Abuja as Secretary for Social Development and Transport from 2007 to 2011.

Awolowo was the Executive Director/CEO of the Nigerian Export Promotion Council from  2013 to  2022, serving two tenures. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.