Ambode appoints ex-AIG, Olakpe LASTMA boss; Fashola, two others become perm secs


In a bid to revamp the Lagos State Traffic Management Authority (LASTMA) for improved performance and better relations with the public, Governor Akinwunmi Ambode, on Monday, approved the appointment of retired Assistant Inspector General of Police, Mr. Christian Akioja Olakpe, as the new Chief Executive Officer of the agency.
The Appointment of Olakpe, according to a statement by the Chief Press Secretary to the Governor, Mr. Habib Aruna, is in strong response to the consistent complaints by the public on the situation of traffic on the streets of Lagos.
Olakpe’s wealth of experience was said to have situated him for the new appointment.
Ambode, it would be recalled, had approved the appointment of a new General Manager for the Authority, but the decision to appoint a seasoned former AIG as the CEO of LASTMA was further said to have been necessitated, owing to the fact that the impetus expected with the previous appointment was not fully actualized due to the docile nature of the headship of the Authority.
Olakpe is a graduate of Sociology and Anthropology from the University of Nigeria, Nsukka and the National Institute of Policy and Strategic Studies, Kuru, Jos.
Olakpe joined the Nigeria Police Force (NPF) in 1982 and traversed various commands, including Bayelsa and Plateau where he served as Commissioner of Police.
He was also the Deputy Commandant of the Police Academy, Kano and Commissioner of Police of the Explosive Ordinance Disposal Unit, Lagos.
A Member of the International Association of Bomb Technicians (IABT) and the International Association of Chiefs of Police (ICAP), Olakpe rose to become Assistant Inspector General of Police before his retirement in 2014.
In a related development, Ambode also approved the appointment of Mr. Taofik Adeyemi Fashola, Mr. Tunde Tairu Ogunleye and Mr. Fola Padonu as Permanent Secretaries in the State Public Service.
In a statement by the Secretary to the State Government (SSG), Mr. Tunji Bello, Ambode said the appointment was in line with the ongoing restructuring of the State Public Service for optimal, effective and efficient service delivery.
Fashola, who until his appointment was Director, Admin and HR, Ministry of Energy and Mineral Resources, is now the Permanent Secretary Audit Service Commission.
Ogunleye, who was Director of Accounts in the Ministry of Works and Infrastructure, is now the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Finance, while Padonu, who was a Director, Planning in the Ministry of Wealth Creation and Employment, has been appointed as the Permanent Secretary in the ministry.
Ambode also approved the redeployed of seven other Permanent Secretaries.
Those redeployed include Arch Folusho Adebayo Dipe, from Ministry of Physical Planning and Urban Development to Ministry of Housing; Mrs. Folashade Oluwatosin Ogunnaike, from Cabinet Office to Ministry of Establishment and Training; Mrs Omobolanle Modinat Ogunmola, from Ministry of Establishment to Civil Service Pensions Office.
Others include Mr. James Olusola Odupitan, from Audit Service Commission to Cabinet Office; Mrs. Boladele Aderemi Dapo-Thomas, from Ministry of Women Affairs and Poverty Alleviation to Ministry of Physical Planning and Urban Development and Mrs. Olanike Elizabeth Oduwole, from Ministry of Wealth Creation to Ministry of Women Affairs and Poverty Alleviation.
The appointments according to the statement, takes effect immediately.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here