Abbas appoints committee chairmen to replace ministers designate


The Speaker of House of Representatives, Rep. Tajudeen Abbas has appointed five members as chairmen of  committees, to replace those appointed ministers by President Bola Tinubu.

In a statement on Thursday, Abbas said that the appointment is with immediate effect so as not to allow void in committee leadership.

“Following the nomination of some members of the 10th House of Representatives as Ministers by President Bola Tinubu and void in the leadership of some standing committees of the House, it is my pleasure to announce the appointment of the following lawmakers to fill up the vacant positions,” he said.

Rep. Mamudu Abdullahi (APC-Niger) is to replace Rep. David Ogewu as Chairman, House Committee on Army

Rep. Pascal Agbodike (APGA- Anambra) to replace Rep. Mahmud Abdulahi as Chairman, House Committee on Hydrological Services

Rep. Dennis Idahosa (APC-Edo) is to replace Rep. Olubumi Tunji-Ojo as Chairman, House Committee on Healthcare Services

Rep. Emmanuel Ukpong-Udo (YPP-Akwa Ibom) is to replace Rep. Dennis Idahosa as Chairman, Committee on Digital and Electronic Banking

While Rep. Bukar Talba (APC-Borno) was Rep. Chairman, House Committee on Institutional Reforms.

“The appointments shall take immediate effect, while the legislative record shall be updated upon resumption of the House from recess,” he said.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.