33-year-old UNIJOS Law student emerges Plateau Speaker; Ubosi, Balarabe-Abdullahi retain seats in Enugu, Nasarawa, Orji emerges in Abia


Mr Abok Ayuba, a 33-year-old law student, on Monday, emerged as Speaker of Plateau State House of Assembly.

Abok, a final year student of the University of Jos (UNIJOS), was elected unopposed at the assembly’s inaugural sitting in Jos.

The new Speaker, a member of the APC representing Jos East, had been nominated by Ibrahim Baba-Hassan (Jos North-North/APC).
The nomination was seconded by Mrs. Simi Dusu (Jos North-West/PDP).

Also elected was Mr Salleh Shehu (Dengi/APC), as Deputy Speaker.

Shehu, a ranking member, was the deputy speaker in the 8th assembly that was dissolved on June 6, 2019.

In his acceptance speech, Ayuba thanked his colleagues for the massive support and promised not to fail them.

He assured them that his leadership would not discriminate against anyone either on the basis of tribe, religion, gender or political difference.

“As Speaker of this noble assembly, I promise to serve with the fear of God, high sense of responsibility and humility,” he said. 

Meanwhile, the immediate past Speaker of Enugu State House of Assembly, Chief Edward Ubosi, has been re-elected for a second tenure as speaker of the Assembly.

This followed a motion moved by a member elect representing Udenu constituency, Mr Ikechukwu Ezeugwu and seconded by the member elect representing Nkanu West constituency, Mr. Iloabuchi Aniagu at the legislatures sitting in Enugu on Monday.

Preceding nomination of the principal officers, Clerk of the House, Dr.Emmanuel Udaya read a letter of proclamation from Gov. Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi of Enugu State on the inauguration of the seventh assembly.

According to the letter, Udaya said that the governor issued a proclamation for the seventh Assembly of the Enugu State House of Assembly to be inaugurated on June 10.

He said that the proclamation was based on powers bestowed upon the governor by section 105, subsections 3 of the 1999 constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended.

The clerk said that the governor  issued the proclamation letter  dated  June 6 for the holding of the first session of the seventh assembly.

The letter read, “Whereas it is provided in section 105 subsections 3 of the 1999 constitution as amended, that the person elected as Governor of a State shall have powers to issue a proclamation for the holding of the first session of the state assembly immediately after he is being sworn in.

“In exercise of powers bestowed upon me by section 105 subsections 3 aforementioned, and of all powers enabling me in that behalf, I hereby proclaim that the first session of the seventh assembly shall hold on Monday, June 10,” it stated.

In the same vein, the member elect representing Ezeagu constituency moved a motion that Mr Uche Ugwu member elect for Udi North constituency be nominated as the Deputy Speaker while Paul Nnajiofor of Nkanu West seconded the motion.

Mr Ikechukwu Ezeugwu of Udenu constituency was re-appointed as the Leader of the assembly while Mr Onyinye Ugwu of Enugu South Rural was also re-appointed as the deputy leader.

Two female legislators, Jane Eneh representing Awgu South constituency and Ethel Ugwuanyi of Igboeze North 1 constituency were elected Chief Whip and deputy chief whip of the assembly.

In an acceptance speech, Ubosi urged the clerk of the assembly to inform the Chief Judge of the state, Justice Ngozi Emehelu that the seventh assembly had been duly inaugurated and that they were free to send any message to the assembly.

He thanked the governor of the state for the relationship that existed between the just concluded sixth assembly and executive and prayed that it would continue.

Ubosi equally commended his colleagues for finding him worthy to preside over the affairs of the assembly for the next four years. 

Also, the 6th Nasarawa State House of Assembly re-elected Alhaji Ibrahim Balarabe-Abdullahi (APC- Umaisha/Ugya constituency) as Speaker.

Balarabe-Abdullahi, the Speaker of the 5th Assembly, emerged unopposed on Monday, during inauguration of the 6th Assembly in Lafia.

He was sworn in by the Clerk of the State Assembly, Mr Ego Maikeffi Abashe.

Mr Nehemiah Dandaura (APC/Akwanga North) emerged as Deputy Speaker.

Alhaji Mohammed Okpoku (APC-Udege/Loko) nominated Balarabe-Abdullahi for the position of speaker and was seconded
by Alhaji Aliyu Dogara (APC-Wamba).

Okpoku said the nomination of Balarabe-Abdullahi was based on his leadership qualities and track records.

Alhaji Mohammed Muluku (APC/Nassarawa Eggon East) nominated Nathaniel Dandaura for the position of deputy speaker.

Mr Danladi Jatau (PDP-Kokona West) seconded the nomination of Dandaura for deputy speaker.

The House unanimously elected Balarabe-Abdullahi and  Dandaura as speaker and deputy speaker of the assembly.

The speaker, in his acceptance speech, appreciated his colleagues for the rare privilege to serve them again.

He said “I accept my nomination and election as speaker of the 6th Nasarawa State House of Assembly.

“I consider my nomination as affirmation of my leadership in the 5th assembly.

“It was anchored on team work, sincerity, transparency, respect for one another and indeed the fear of God.”

He promised to enhance working relationship with members, saying the 6th Assembly would consolidate on
the gains of the previous assembly for the benefit of the people of the state.
In Abia State, Mr Chinedum Orji, a former Majority Leader of the House of Assembly, was on Monday elected as the Speaker of the 7th Assembly.

Orji (Umuahia Central), was unanimously elected following his nomination by Mr Munachim Alozie and seconded by Mr Ginger Onwuasibe (Isiala Ngwa North).

The 24-member House also elected Mr Ifeanyi Uchendu (Ohafia South) as the Deputy Speaker.

Uchendu, who was also unanimously elected, was nominated by Mr Thomas Nkoro (Obingwa West) and seconded by Mr Jerry Uzosike (Umuahia South).

The 7th Assembly, which was inaugurated by Governor Okezie Ikpeazu, also elected Mr Solomon Apulonu (Obingwa East) as the Majority Leader and Mr Paul Taribo (Ukwa East) as his deputy among others.

In his inaugural speech, Orji, thanked his colleagues for reposing the trust in him and promised to do his best to justify the confidence reposed on him.

“This 7th Abia House of Assembly shall be vibrant and result-oriented.

“We are the House of the people, by the people and for the people and we shall endeavour to make the people the centre-point of all our actions and decisions.

“We are, therefore, committed to the enactment of sound laws and legislature that will help in uplift the lives and well-being of Ndigbo Abia,” he said.

Orji, an engineer, said that the House under his leadership, would collaborate with the executive to protect and preserve the governor’s vision and policy trust for the state.

He succeeded Mr Chikwendu Kalu (Isiala Ngwa South).

The 7th Assembly consists of 19 Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), three members of APGA and two members of APC.

Twelve of the members are freshers while the remaining 12 were part of the 6th Assembly.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

nineteen − 15 =