Mustapha Akanbi, Igbokwe, Chiroma, Wogu, Olanipekun, 26 others become SANs


The Legal Practitioners` Privileges Committee (LPPC), on Thursday, elevated 31 legal practitioners to the rank of Senior Advocates of Nigeria (SAN).
Mrs Hadizatu Mustapha, Chief Registrar of the Supreme Court, made the disclosure while briefing newsmen in Abuja.
“The Legal Practitioner` Privileges Committee at its 133rd plenary held July 12 has elevated 31 legal practitioners to the inner bar.
“The rank (SAN) is warded as a mark of excellence to members of the legal profession who have distinguished themselves as advocates and academics’’, she said.
The new appointees are: Madu Abuchi, Essien Udom, Prof. Oluyemisi Bangbose, Metong Urombo, Prof. Waha Egbewole, George Igbokwe, Olubowale Taiwo, Oluwole Iyamu, Adekole Olawoye, Stephen Adehi and Oluseun Akinbiyi.
Others are: Emmanuel Achukwu, Kenneth Ahia, Loius Alozie. Prof. Isa Chiroma, Prof. Olanrewaju Fagbohun, Adeyinka Olumide-Fusika, Johnson Ojo, Wole Agunbiade, Olayode Delano, Tanimu Inuwa, Sonny Wogu and Prof. Offorinze Amucheazi.
The rest are: Adewale Atake, Ikhide Ehighelua, Mosediq Kazeem, Edmund Obiagwu, Prof. Muhammed Mustapha-Akanbi, Cosmas Enweluzo, Isiaka Mudi as well as Olabode Olanipekun.
Mustapha said the swearing-in ceremony of these new appointees would be held during the new legal year of the Supreme Court scheduled for September 24.
A total of 106 applied with 83 of them entering as practising lawyers and 23 academics.
Out of the two females that entered into the race, one was successful.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.